Prisoner of Pomegranate! Crescent Moon in my Navel!


I double took TWICE when I saw this shelf in the Dubai airpot.
Sultry Desert Flower was sweating all over Tears of the Desert while Mukhtar Mai and the hot Prisoner lady from Tehran were looking all stoic at the overbaked middle-aged expat ladies going back to Adelaide or Cape Town or wherever saying, “Take me home and give me to your friends at work to share a little piece of your trip to the Arab world.”

Who knows what Robert Fisk was doing there but he looks pretty OK in hijab.

I see Jean “Princess” Sasson has arisen from the pulpy depths to grace feature-shelves again.

What’s WITH all this retro-Not-Without-My-Daughter bullshit?
(That’s a retorical question)
Will eet never end?!

Comments
3 Responses to “Prisoner of Pomegranate! Crescent Moon in my Navel!”
  1. Jean says:

    Hi, I was so pleased to see the photo you posted of important books highlighted at the Dubai airport. This is Jean Sasson and your comments caught my eye. Mostly, though, and sadly enough, I am stunned at the nasty tone when it comes to books about women who have truly suffered and lived through the most horrid experiences, only to survive and to reach out and help others. All of the women have a right for their stories to be told, and it is marvelous that most people in the world care about their plight. To answer your question, “When will it all end?” And, I took your question to mean when will you no longer have to hear about such tragic stories, I guess the answer is when women all over the world live in dignity and with guarenteed rights to make their own decisions and to be protected from violence and cruelty. There are many terrible things in the world, for sure, events and cultural habits which affect men, as well as women. Yet women tend to have it worse. There are ways to change lives for the better — but people have to know about the problem before it can be solved. In my years of travel and interviewing women from many lands, a common theme was how the women felt forgotten, and even hopeless, convinced that no one cared that they were married to a cruel man they did not love, or that their daughter had been burned to death by her in-laws so that the son might marry yet another woman and receive yet another dowry. Sure, the books I write, as well as many others of the same theme are not scholarly tomes, they are books that reveal the strength of women who have overcome the most horrific events. Plain language is the best way to reveal such stories. I’ve noticed that the scholarly tomes are written for critics. I write for ordinary people who care about others. I’ve never had the desire to write a book that few people will read–it’s too important for these stories to become known. I know I am most likely whistling in the wind to even write this note, but I am always hopeful that when a person hears the other side, that their kindness will surface and they will acknowledge that other feelings count. I do so hope you will at least allow your mind to open a bit and to consider how important it is for women to take their rightful place in the world. We are all important, men, boys, women and girls, and have a right to live in peace and dignity, and for some of our dreams to come true. For now, I sincerely hope that you can become a force of good defending such women, rather than attacking them and their stories. I learn new things every day and that’s the beauty of living. If anyone wants to drop me a note, my email address is wbbooks@hotmail.comMany thanks, Jean Sasson

  2. Jean says:

    Hi Sophia, I just read your xclaimer where you mention my comments where I feel your blog was an attack against women– What human being wouldn’t interprete these words: “I see Jean “Princess” Sasson has arisen from the pulpy depts to grace feature-shelves again” as an attack? I think anyone would! However, it’s nice that you have clarified what it is about the books written about or by women from the Middle East that so irritates you, which you say is “a pair of kohled eyes flashing out of a cover.” Also, I didn’t know if you were Arab or not, and didn’t express any opinion about your nationality one way or the other in my blog…But, I will admit that in my heart I had a thought that you certainly must dislike women. Obviously that is not the case. Anyhow, I’m glad that women can bring their stories to the world, even if publishers and readers both like the veiled covers. What is important is that that women are gaining power to make their stories known to the world. I’ve met so many women who felt helpless yet who wanted their stories told, but were terrified for their families, or their governments, to know that they had revealed the challenges of their lives. Let’s hope that soon there are no such stories to tell because women no longer have to endure ill treatment. I’ll give up a best-selling book anyday of the week if that means no woman is under the power of a man who is cruel to her, and to her children. Sophia, here’s wishing you a wonderful day. Jean Sasson

  3. I understand perfectly, and like your ‘retro Not Without My Daughter’ observation. Dont let Jean Sassoon mess with your head and talk you round. Your first time instinkt is spot on.
    Jean Sasson is a fraudulent hoax author, and a real gem to her publishers who protect her for the golden eggs of lies she lays for them. Ker-ching, ker-ching. And since 9/11 happened, she has used it in her books repeatedly as her marketing tool.
    Why not Google: THE PRINCESS SULTANA HOAX

    PS: Have you ever heard of a best seller author, or for that matter any other author, who seeks out every reader who criticises her books and in the process, justifies herself with further lies,. I am an ardent reader, but have not come across another paranoid like her. On Amazone.com Sasson has a number of people working for her. Their job it to intimidate readers who give her a one star review or a negative comment for her book’s.
    Monika Adsani

Leave a Reply

  • Support Wikipedia
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

