Reflections in an Avian Eye

Confession:

My earliest memory of abject fear is from a Beatrix Potter story.

Yes. I’m a wuss.

The name of my fear is Old Brown.

He is the owl villain of Squirrel Nutkin. The terrifying, music-hating, tail-snipping ancient one…and his eyes. In particular in this picture.

beatrix-potter-the-tale-of-squirrel-nutkin-1903-nutkin-espcapes-out-attic-window

In which Old Brown’s eye is black and peering.

I misunderstood (and misremembered) this image until I looked it up just now. I always assumed it was the owl curled downwards, looking up over its left wing with its left eyes.

world_press_photo_11_leipzig_8

When they are wide it is in the opposite of surprise: that is deep focus, it is intention, it is power, it is knowing.

Many birds have this effect on me.

shoebill_p73_cropped

Gannets, Shoebills…the more dinosaur of the types. The carnivorous bad omens.

Knowing what we don’t know: the primeval and dark fact that an owl is an owl is an owl. And you’re just a you are a you.

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Reflections in an Avian Eye”
  1. Krystina says:

    I have to imagine that you’ve already come across Kenny Irwin’s scifi Pakistan images, but these of his dOvestar chronicles strike me as particularly relevant here… http://flickrhivemind.net/Tags/dovestar/Interesting

  2. Helen says:

    Had we known this, I’d never have agreed to a watching of Birdemic last Sunday!

Leave a Reply

  • Support Wikipedia
